Blackberry Saison – Heimdall’s Garde

I knew I wanted to brew a fruit saison as soon as possible after Philadelphia homebrewer/homebrew blogger Ed Coffey posted this peach saison to the homebrewing subreddit. Just the photo made my mouth water. Unfortunately here in Denmark peaches are imported from far off lands, and not great.  However, many brewing-appropriate fruits grow in an almost weed-like fashion in the very neighbourhood I now live in.  This beer will be aged on blackberries grown in my good friend’s backyard, on a street named for the Norse god Heimdallr, with a significant amount of rye and wheat in the grist, and fermentation will be finished with brett from a bottle of Orval. Special thanks to Ed Coffee who offered a lot of helpful advice for this beer.

10 litres, brew in a bag-  Beersmith Recipe File

Grist

  • 50%  Belgian Pilsner
  • 25% Belgian Wheat
  • 25% Rye

Yeast

  • Wyeast 3724 Belgian Saison
  • Orval Dregs (after the Saison yeast stalls or reaches terminal gravity.)

Hops

  • FWH – 15 IBUs Magnum
  • 20 minute steep at flameout –  7.5 IBUs Hallertau Blanc and 10 IBUs Nelson Sauvin

Additional

1600 g of blackberries will go into secondary fermentation after the Orval dregs have done their thing.

Brew Day

This is my small system, and I brew in my kitchen. Everything went smoothly and gravity numbers were all spot on.

Mash in a cooler
Mashing in a cooler makes things a lot easier, no having to insulate a kettle or worrying about melting the bag from heating. Unfortunately this cooler can’t compete with the Igloo I do 5 gallon batches in, quite a bit of temperature drop during a 75 minute mash. I solve this with a small mini decoction after 45 minutes.
Pretty productive mash, I managed to build this Ikea patio set during sacch rest! I'm hoping to enjoy this very beer on this patio when spring returns in 8 months.
Pretty productive mash, I managed to build this Ikea patio set during sacch rest! I’m hoping to enjoy this very beer on this patio when spring returns in 8 months.
Dat hot break!
Dat hot break!
I used a brew belt for this saison, hoping to keep the famously fickle Dupont yeast strain from crapping out. These days my brew cellar is still keeping a steady 18 degrees C, and the brew belt should keep the wort around 26 degrees C.
I used a brew belt for this saison, hoping to keep the famously fickle Dupont yeast strain from crapping out. These days my brew cellar is still keeping a steady 18 degrees C, and the brew belt should keep the wort around 26 degrees C.
4 thoughts on “Blackberry Saison – Heimdall’s Garde”

Leave a Reply

