Saison v1.1

Greetings reader. My mother-in-law has been visiting for the last week, meaning the three batches I had planned to have fermenting before I go on a week long holiday in Barcelona is now but one. I tackled the one recipe that would require the least attention and that I could feel could be left alone while I eat my weight in ham. I have repeated the recipe I have used in my planned blackberry saison, substituting the difficult Wyeast 3724 for The Yeast Bay’s Wallonian Farmhouse. 

I made a 1.5 litre starter which I then split 1/3 – 2/3rds, the smaller portion going into version 1 of the beer which has been stuck at 1.020 for over a week and a half. The remaining litre will go into this new batch.

Saison v1.1 – Link to beersmith recipe

Target OG 1.056

Grist

  • 50% Belgian Pils
  • 25% Malted Wheat
  • 25% Malted Rye

Hops

  • FWH 15 IBUs Magnum
  • Hops stand for 20 minutes with 7.3 IBU Hellartau Blanc and 10 IBU Nelson Sauvin

Yeast

  • The Yeast Bay Wallonian Farmhouse

Notes

I solved my heat-shedding cooler with a ridiculously thick comforter that is literally too hot to sleep with, even in a nordic winter.

wpid-wp-1412682783029.jpegI also broke from BIAB tradition by withholding two litres of liquor from the infusion and adding it at 60 minutes, boiling to get a rise of 6 degrees F for an additional 15 minutes. I think this is going to be standard practice for me, as my efficiency jumped by almost 8% today. I also set the gap on my mill to .762 mm using feeler gauges my mother-in-law generously ferried across the Atlantic for me. That’s .002mm wider a gap then when I used my credit card.

Gravity going into the fermenter is 1.061, a little too high for an authentic Saison maybe, but not uncommon for Fantome, where I suspect this yeast comes from.

When I get back from vacation I will let this beer go for another 4 days and then compare it to the other saison now bubbling happily away with the new yeast. One will be dryhopped, the other will go onto fruit.

One thought on “Saison v1.1”

Leave a Reply

